Skip to main content

Special Collections and Rare Books: Digital Collections

Teaching a class that would benefit from using Special Collections Materials?

A French Book of Hours

 book of hours

Image and Imagination from the Middle Ages

This site is an interactive internet exhibit designed and executed by undergraduate students for the Loras College Library.  The project was part of the coursework for HIS 341, “The Age of Love and Reason, 1075-1517,” a History course on the Late Middle Ages taught by Dr. John Eby, a Loras College History professor.  Inside this site you will find topical essays, images and information, and a link to a full-text scan of one of the most impressive manuscripts in the Loras College Rare Books Collection.

Ancient Coins

coin

The Father Downing Coin Collection

This site houses images of a collection of ancient Greek, Roman, and Byzantine coins donated to Loras College by Father Downing. Identifying and photographing this collection is an ongoing project as the entire collection contains approximately 2000 coins. This project is a collaboration between Loras Professor Dr. Cindy Smith, the library, and student interns.

Roseliep Christmas Cards

Father Christmas and Angel with Lighted Star

Roseliep Christmas Postcard Collection

A rare and valuable collection of antique Christmas postcards donated by the late Father Raymond Roseliep. These postcards, gathered from around the world, represent a small sample of the impressive collection acquired by former Loras English Professor, Father Roseliep. The cards include many rare depictions of Santa, as well as St. Nicholas and his close companion, the Krampus—a hairy, horned, demon-like figure with one hoofed and one clawed foot, and a long red tongue that extends down his chest.