We know not everyone can make the trip to Dubuque, though we highly encourage it. For those unable to travel, The Center for Dubuque History/Loras College Archives staff can assist you. Please use the Reference Request Form for the following services:
- Ask general questions about how to use the CDH/LCA.
- Ask specific questions about Dubuque history and the CDH/LCA collections.
- Request reproductions of specific documents and images from the collections.
Library and Archives staff are not able to provide any general, complex or broad-based reference services. To answer these types of questions, you will need to visit the CDH/LCA in person.
After submitting the Reference Request Form our staff will contact you. You will be notified if the information you are seeking cannot be found.
- Reference Fees –
- Requests that can be answered in under 15 minutes will be done so without any charge, exclusive of scanning fees.
- Any additional time needed to fulfil your request will be billed at $20.00 per 30 minutes. You will be provided with a cost estimate to approve prior to our staff beginning the work. Included in the fee are up to 10 complimentary scans.
- The reference fee applies even if the information you are seeking cannot be found.
- Additional Charges – Additional charges may be incurred if extra or specialized work is associated with your request including, but not limited to, more photographs and document scans.
- Payment – Do not send payment until you are requested to do so by the staff. All payments are required in advance before work begins on your request.
Staff are unable to fulfill a reference request in the following instances:
- When release of information or materials are restricted by United States copyright, Federal or State law, Campus policies, or donor agreements.
- When equipment to reproduce the material(s) is not available.
- When the condition of the material(s) is fragile.
Photocopying requests are subject to fees and decision to copy will take into consideration item condition, copyright, and donor restrictions.
- The CDH/LCA no longer provides physical copies of requested materials.
- Photocopy requests will be filled with medium quality, watermarked images of the requested documents which will be emailed to the requester or posted to an online dropbox.
- A CD of the scans may be requested.
- Contact the Director of the CDH/LCA to discuss prices for high quality scans for publishing.
- The CDH/LCA limits the amount of scanning to less than 20% of the item/collection.
- If you are willing to fund the scanning of the entire item/collection (subject to copyright restrictions) it will then be added to our digital collections with you listed as the funder of the digital collection.
- We reserve the right to refuse a reproduction request if filling the request would result in damage to the materials being scanned or would violate copyright law.
- Reproductions are for private study, scholarship, or research use only. All scans will be watermarked.
Fees for Photocopying/Scanning:
- $10 for 1-25 pages
- $5 for each additional 15 pages
- $5 + shipping for a CD of the images
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17 U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproduction of copyrighted materials. Patrons should be aware that the Library cannot waive copyright as it applies to materials in its holdings or grant permission to publish copyrighted materials. Because of copyright, the use of video cameras, still cameras, scanners, cellular phones, or other copying equipment is restricted in the room.